2022 HiPipo Music Awards Nominations Out.

HiPipo Music Awards

2022 HiPipo Music Awards Nominations Out.

Date: November 18, 2022

Venue: Kampala Serena Hotel, + Virtual Audience

Theme: #LevelOneProject

Season: 11

We are delighted to unveil the nominees of the 2022 HiPipo Music Awards slated for 18th November, 2022, at Kampala Serena Hotel.

Musicians; Sheebah, Fik Fameica, Azawi, and David Lutalo top the nomination list with at-least four nominations each. They are together with Winnie Nwagi and Eddy Kenzo nominated for Artist of the Year, among other categories. These six have with no doubt had a splendid 2022.

The Africa Number One Award is being competed for by nine Artistes that have had mega-hit songs and put up exceptional performances in 2022. These are; Ayra Starr, Burna Boy, Ckay, Diamond Platnumz, Fireboy, Goya Menor, Kizz Daniel, Pheelz, and Rema.

Altogether, there are eleven vote-determined categories while the Life Time Achievement Award will be decided by the HiPipo Music Awards Assembly.

“It is a special day today as we release this year’s nominations. We received thousands of submissions from which this final list has been generated. We have twelve qualitative categories. The nominees are a perfect representation of Uganda, East Africa and Africa’s music industry performance in 2022,” Innocent Kawooya, the HiPipo CEO said while releasing the nominations.

He added: “With the nominations out, we move to the next stage of the project, which is voting. This will run from today until 18th November. While all nominees are winners, the overall winners will be those with the highest number of votes per category. We encourage all music lovers to take part in this critical exercise.”

Now in its eleventh consecutive edition, HiPipo Music Awards continues to be recognised not just for the critical acclaim and prestige it bestows on its winners and nominees, but, also for its longevity and consistence as well.

More than ten uniquely gifted artistes have been lined up to perform this year led by Bebe Cool, Naava Grey, Kenneth Mugabi and Afande Miah. The full list of performers will be unveiled in due course.

“After 10 years, we know our strengths, we have learnt from our past; starting from the first awards event, which was an online virtual experience, held in May 2012. We always thrive to improve and set benchmarks for the industry. As such the eleventh edition will be a show like never before,” Nicholas Kalungi, the HiPipo Chief Operations Officer noted.

This year’s tickets will be sold at UGX 100,000 – ordinary, UGX 200,000 – VIP and UGX 3,000,000 for a table for eight.

For now; get ready to vote, book your ticket and see you on 18th November, 2022 at Kampala Serena Hotel. The official voting Hashtags are #HiPipoMusicAwards #LevelOneProject


  1. Africa Number 1
    • Ayra Starr
    • Burna Boy
    • Ckay
    • Diamond Platnumz
    • Fireboy
    • Goya Menor
    • Kizz Daniel
    • Pheelz
    • Rema
  1. Africa Best Act
    • Burna Boy – For My Hand Ft. Ed Sheeran
    • Diamond Platnumz Ft Zuchu – Mtasubiri
    • Fireboy DML & Ed Sheeran – Peru
    • Goya Menor & Nektunez – Ameno Amapiano Remix
    • Kizz Daniel, Tekno – Buga
    • Nyashinski – Properly Ft. Femi One
    • Pheelz – Finesse (Ft. BNXN)
    • Rema – Calm Down
    • Ruger – Girlfriend


  • East Africa Super Hit
    • David Lutalo – Kabisi Ka Ndagala
    • Diamond Platnumz Ft. Mbosso – Oka
    • Azawi – Majje (Ft. Fik Fameica)
    • Bruce Melodie – Akinyuma
    • Natacha – LAMOTO
    • Rayvanny Ft Zuchu – I Miss You
    • Sheebah – Nkwata Bulungi (Bailamos)
    • Iry Tina – Bindekere
    • Butera Knowless – Bafana Bafana Ft. BullDogg & Fireman
    • Nyashinski – Properly Ft. Femi One
  • East Africa Super Video
    • Bien x Aaron Rimbui – Mbwe Mbwe
    • David Lutalo – Kabisi Ka Ndagala
    • Diamond Platnumz Ft. Mbosso – Oka
    • Diamond Platnumz – Unachezaje
    • Nyashinski – Properly Ft. Femi One
    • Sheebah – Nabaleka
    • Innoss’B – Mortel-06


  • Artist of The Year
    • Azawi
    • David Lutalo
    • Eddy Kenzo
    • Fik Fameica
    • Sheebah
    • Winnie Nwagi
  • Song of the Year
    • Azawi Ft. Fik Fameica – Majje
    • Eddy Kenzo – Nsimbudde
    • John Blaq – Follow
    • King Saha – Zakayo
    • Mudra & Sheebah – Ayi
    • NTAATE – Brag About God
    • Rema Namakula – Akafee Che
    • Winnie Nwagi – Malaika
  • Video of the Year
    • Azawi Ft. Fik Fameica – Majje
    • David Lutalo – Kabisi Ka Ndagala
    • John Blaq – Follow
    • Jose Chameleone – Forever
    • Karole Kasita – Nywamu
    • Vinka – Fimbo
  • Breakthrough Artist
    • Eli Bulamu
    • Kataleya & Kandle
    • Pinky
    • Ronald Alimpa
    • Vyroota
  • Digital Music Queen of the Year
    • Azawi
    • Kataleya and Kandle
    • Sheebah
    • Vinka
    • Winnie Nwagi
  • Best Regional Song
    • Chris Johnz Ft. Fille – Ccupa
    • Elton Loverboy – Abekuri
    • Kim Nana – Tukutukutu
    • Levixone & Ray G – Yoya
    • OMEGA 256 – Am coming
    • Pato Loverboy Ft. Lucky Dee – Lworo Benega
    • Profesa Maros – Yin ilo
    • Serena Bata & Yaled – Onfunye Omusoga
    • Shanandi – Masala
    • Titus Vybes – Nadunga
  • Most Viral Song
    • Eddy Yawe Ft. Martha Mukisa – Neteze
    • Gravity – Tusimbudde
    • King Fa – Kokonyo
    • King Saha – Zakayo
    • Pinky x Grenade Official – Picha
    • Roland Alimpa – Seen Don Olusuku Lwa Cement
  • Lifetime Achievement Award