Artist of the Year

HiPipo Music Awards

Artist of the Year

Ugandan Reggae icon Bebe Cool was voted the Artist of the year as well as the Best Male artist in the MTN sponsored HiPipo Music Awards which took place at Wonder World auditorium in Kansanga.

The Awards, dubbed “the fans decide” also saw Rema take the accolade as the Best Female artist of the year 2013.

The HiPipo Music Awards aimed at recognizing musicians of tremendous talent on the local industry.  Chameleons’ Badilisha was voted the song of the year while Obudde Album, by Goodlyfe took the accolade for Album of the year. Kata, by Navio was voted as the Video of the year.

Diana Nalubega of Kabiite fame, for the first record time won the MTN Most Selling Song Award, and walked away with a high class tablet.

Talking about MTN’s decision to sponsor the awards, MTN Chief Marketing Officer Ernst Fonternel said that the future of the world is digital and therefore MTN was glad to support such an initiative which is in line with its vision of leading the delivery of a bold new digital world for its customers.

“We are glad to be part of this initiative, to recognize talent and reward it. We are committed to keep the vibrant Ugandan music industry alive by supporting such events that provide local artistes with an incentive to grow their talent and promote their music. The HiPipo Music Awards is a good platform to recognize and promote individuals and groups that have excelled in the various music genres,” he said.

To participate, the public was encouraged to vote through SMS and online platform.

2nd HiPipo Music Awards winners

Full list of Winners: #HiPipoMusicAwards 2014

  1. Artist of the Year: Bebe Cool
  2. Best Male Artist : Bebe Cool
  3. Best Female Artist: Rema
  4. Best Duo-Group Artist : Radio and Weasel
  5. Best Male Breakthrough Artist : Aganaga Khalifah
  6. Best Female Breakthrough Artist : Irene Ntale
  7. MTN Most Selling Song : Kisumuluzo – Diana Nalubega
  8. Best HiPipo Charts Artist : Sarah Musayimuto and MC Norman
  9. Best Artist on Social Media : Bebe Cool
  10. Best On Stage Performer : Bebe Cool
  11. Best Artist in Diaspora : Pallaso
  12. Best Young/Teen Artist Young Zee
  13. Best DJ : DJ Shiru
  14. Album of the Year : Obudde Album – Radio and Weasel
  15. Video of the Year : Kata – Navio
  16. Song of the Year : Badilisha – Jose Chameleone
  17. Best Concept Music Video : Kata – Navio
  18. Best Performance Music Video : Ntandika – Grace Nakimera
  19. Best Audio Producer : Nash Wander
  20. Best Video Producer : JahLive
  21. Best Song Writer : Saxeess
  22. Best Male HIP HOP Song : Leka Kwenyumiriza – Navio and Unique
  23. Best Female HIP HOP Song : Go Gal – Mc Clara
  24. Best Male R&B Song : Tonefulira – Sylver Kyagulanyi
  25. Best Female R&B Song : Kukaliba – Rema
  26. Best Male RAGGA-DANCEHALL Song : Kokodiosis – Bebe Cool
  27. Best Female RAGGA-DANCEHALL Song : Fire Tonight – Rema
  28. Best Male REGGAE Song : Love Letter – Bebe Cool and Irene Ntale
  29. Best Female REGGAE Song : Yimuka – Allen Majara
  30. Best Male GOSPEL Song : Mukama Mpa Okukumanya – Richard Masembe
  31. Best Female GOSPEL Song : Saba by Julie Mutesaasila
  32. Best Male BAND Song : Wa Gyetugenda – David Lutalo
  33. Best Female BAND Song : Onkubyeko Ekibaati – Benah Namisinga
  34. Best Male KADONGO KAMU Song : Ebintu Bizibu – Hassan Ndugga (Revival Band)
  35. Best Female KADONGO KAMU Song : Omwana Wani – Jackie Babirye and Umar Mwanje
  36. Best Male ZOUK Song : Badilisha – Jose Chameleone
  37. Best Female ZOUK Song : Its OK – Titie Tabela
  38. Best Male AFRO MIX Song : Love Me Love Me – Viboyo Oweyo
  39. Best Female AFRO MIX Song : Hooray – Leila Kayondo and Jose Chameleone.
  40. Best Male AFROBEAT Song : Akalimu – Bobi Wine
  41. Best Female AFROBEAT Song : Eddiba – Juliana Kanyomozi
  42. Best Western Region Song : Kigambe – Lady Mariam
  43. Best Eastern Region Song : Akuloga – Fusion Band
  44. Best Northern Region Song : Mama – Bosmic Otim
  45. Best Southern Region Song: Mpatikana – SK Brian

Buy your #HiPipoMusicAwards Tickets now at 50,000 UGX , When you Vote on our Whatsapp Number! VIP Table at 3,000,000 UGX (or Corporate Table 5,000,000) To book your ticket now send 50k now to *Mobile Money Number +256778087194* Hurry to book your ticket! Keep Voting and See you at Kampala Serena Hotel | Saturday 17/March/2017 SAVE NOW! Book Now. #HiPipoMusicAwards

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons